Police & the Community


The Barrie Police Service Annual Awards Ceremony

The Barrie Police Service Annual Awards Ceremony
April 21st, 2017 - Police & the Community

The Barrie Police Service (BPS) will recognize the bravery, exceptional achievements and the efforts of numerous citizens and members of the Barrie Police Service on Thursday, April 27, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. This event is the annual Barrie Police Service Awards Ceremony, and will take place at the Lion’s Gate Banquet Hall, located at 386 Blake Street, in the City of Barrie.

Chief Kimberley Greenwood has said “The Barrie Police Service is excited to honour the brave men and women of our service and members of the community for their outstanding work, acts of bravery, altruism and profound contribution to public safety and security. We are also pleased to honour serving and retired members with years of exemplary service that have made a tremendous contribution to the safety of our city and the Barrie Police Service. I would like to congratulate all of the award recipients; they have our respect, our praise and deepest thanks.”

For full coverage of the Barrie Police Awards Ceremony tune into Rogers TV Barrie on;

  • Wednesday, May 17 - 10:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, May 18 - 5:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 18 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday, May 19 - 10:30 a.m

Police Exemplary Service Medal - This medal is a national recognition for twenty (20) years of exemplary service.The Police Exemplary Service Medal is issued by the Chancellor of Canadian Orders and Decorations, and is authorized by Her Majesty the Queen as a National Honour. In addition to their Exemplary Service Medals these recipients will be receiving congratulatory scrolls from The City of Barrie and the Federal and Provincial Government.  

  1. Inspector Rob Burke
  2. Sergeant Patrick Brouillard
  3. Sergeant Andrew Butler
  4. Sergeant Don Moore
  5. D/Constable Chris Castonguay
  6. D/Constable Anneli Farrell
  7. Constable Karl Franke
  8. Constable Brad Traves
  9. Constable Duncan Watson

Police Exemplary Service Bar - This is awarded to members for each ten (10) year period of full-time service after being awarded the Exemplary Service Medal. This year's recipients will be receiving their thirty (30) year Exemplary Service Bar.

  1. Inspector Paul McGarry
  2. Staff Sergeant Thomas Sinclair
  3. Constable Cameron Cooper
  4. Staff Sergeant Mark Holden (retried)
  5. Sergeant Gordon Speers (retired)

Civilian Service Pin - The Barrie Police Service pays tribute to the dedicated civilian members who play an indispensable role within the organization. Our civilian members provide critical and essential services; without these members our service could not accomplish its core business as effectively as it does. These pins are presented in five (5) year increments.

  1. Shirley Hrynyk                    35 years
  2. Mary Brown                        25 years
  3. Iris Riviere                          25 years
  4. Barbara Howse                  20 years
  5. Donna Borda                     15 years
  6. Nancy Halas                      15 years
  7. Heather McWhinnie           15 years
  8. Jennifer Haenni                 10 years
  9. Marie McWilliams              10 years
  10. Paula Curry                         5 years
  11. Jennifer Desole-Paine         5 years
  12. Brandon Scott                     5 years
  13. Canine Thor                        5 years

Formal Commendation Certificate - This award is to commend a member(s) for excellent work that goes beyond the normal or expected level of work performance.

  1. Constable Geoff Allain
  2. Constable Christopher Allport
  3. Constable Brett  Carleton
  4. Constable Kurt Hemington
  5. Constable Don Langdon
  6. Constable Pat Morrow
  7. Constable Avneet Singh
  8. Constable Jonathan Watt
  9. Constable Andrew Young
  10. Constable Erica Sinclair
  11. Christine Atkinson
  12. Shirley Dunn
  13. Dana Forrest
  14. Tonya Kennedy
  15. Melissa Nadeau

Award of Merit - This is awarded to a member(s) or citizen(s) in recognition of continuous and professional representation of the Barrie Police Service through voluntary participation with an organization, board, activity, etc.

  1. Staff Sergeant Linda Moorhouse
  2. Sergeant Susan Gillies

Citizen Award - This award is bestowed to a citizen(s) that has assisted and cooperated with the Barrie Police Service in such a manner that their actions merit special recognition.

  1. Domenic Bianchi
  2. Rudy Maset

Civilian Agency Award -This is awarded to a civilian agency, service club or to a member or citizen as authorized, by the Chief.

  1. CARAH House

Chief of Police Award This is awarded to a member(s) or citizen(s) for dedication and perseverance to a task that promotes the Barrie Police Service either internally or in the community.  

  1. Terry Leigh
  2. Mari Sue Bachmeier
  3. Stephen Bound
  4. Julie Kumar
  5. Sonja Verbeek

Life Saving Award -This is awarded to a member(s) or citizen(s) for an act that resulted in the rescue or the saving of a person’s life.

  1. Constable Jonathan Watt
  2. Constable Erica Sinclair
  3. Kelcey McGrath
  4. Lauren McGrath
  5. Vince McGrath

For media inquiries and/or attendance, please contact Corporate Communications at (705)725-7025 ext. 2926.